[New members]

Démarré par CrazyJo, 12 Juin 2007 14:08

« précédent - suivant »

CrazyJo

Hello everybody ! :) ,

How are you ? I hope you're fine . ;)

I hadn't see a topic about "new member" so I posted this new topic here. All the news members (and older) could introduce himself here.
I begin :

My name is Jonathan and I'm sixteen. I'm a student and I 'm Swiss. I like playing Football, Tennis, Ping-Pong and programming (I'm a beginner . I'm learning Cocoa and Obj-C) I knew this podcast because the website "Emob" talked about your podcast. I have learned English since 3 years. I find the most difficult thing in English it's the pronunciation. Your podcast help me very much for it. Thanks.

PS: Tomorrow I'm going to do my English writing exam and the 19 June it's my oral English exam...

CrazyJo  8)

Thomas

Welcome to the forum, CrazyJo :)

This is actually a really good idea, I think. Maybe we can learn more about each other this way.

Good luck on your exams!
Hello, and welcome to Apprendre l'anglais.
Bonjour, et bienvenue à Apprendre l'anglais.

Thomas

Welcome to the forum, Gary! (Yes, that's an American name).

To answer your questions...
You're right, "high school" is "lycée".

And yes, if I'm going to Eric's house, I can also just say Eric's. However, in English we spell "oncle" with a "u", so it would be uncle's house or uncle's ;)

The verb "améliorer" does translate as "to improve", yes. If you want to keep it reflexive (like the s'/m'/t'/etc. in French), then you say "to improve myself/yourself/yourselves/himself/herself/itself/ourselves/themselves", so you would have said "to improve myself".

Another way you can translate "s'améliorer", if you don't care if it's reflexive, is the verb phrase "to get better" (un peu comme "se rendre meilleur", mais ce n'est pas réflexif en anglais). So for example,

Je veux m'améliorer --> I want to improve myself OR I want to get better